Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

Psalm 40

I waited patiently for the Lord;

He turned to me and heard my cry.

He lifted me out of the slimy pit,

out of the mud and mire;

He set my feet on a rock

and gave me a firm place to stand.

He put a new song in my mouth,

a hymn of praise to our God.”


Well, I didn’t really wait patiently for the Lord…more like an impatient, temper-tantrum throwing toddler.  I was in the mud and the mire, I had fallen head first into the slimy pit of circumstances that were beyond my control.

Yes, I cried to the Lord.  I pleaded, I begged, and I cried.  I also couldn’t see.  In my distress, and desire for the outcome of my choosing, I did not see when the Lord heard my cry and pulled me out of the mire.  I didn’t see that the rock He placed me on was a rock of His choosing, one that He knew was better for me.

It took me a long time to understand this.  I thought I knew God’s Word and Ways pretty well.  But ‘knowing’  and ‘applying’ are two different things.  First, I needed to overcome my pride, and accept things as they were.  The past was no longer mine to deal with.  God was setting me on a new course.  The past, the present, and the future all belong to God.

Even as I began to accept the circumstances of my dive into the slimy pit, I had not yet reached the point of singing a new song of praise to God.  As I read Psalm 40, I was nodding in agreement with the first verses.  Yup, that is exactly how I felt – in a muddy, mirery pit.  Then came the question: Did God “set my feet on a rock”?  It wasn’t the rock I had been praying for.  But maybe it was a better rock for this time in my life.

I started to count my blessings as opposed to my hardships, and I had to admit, this is a better rock then the one I had been coveting.  God heard my cry, pulled me from the mire, set my feet on solid ground, and made me see His new blessings.  “He put a new song in my mouth”, and I will sing “a hymn of praise to our God”

Comments on: "Psalm 40" (2)

  1. This is a beautiful post, Terri. I’m so happy you feel happy.

  2. It takes a mature faith to see and accept the rock, sometimes. I’m glad you can appreciate it instead of longing after another one!

Leave a Reply

