Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

“It’s ok to ask for help”…what a simple and obvious statement!  So simple, and so obvious, and it only took me 50 some years to figure that one out.

If you are having trouble,

in trouble,

or headed for trouble;

It’s ok to ask for help.

If you are stressed,

anxious,

nervous, or

completely maxed out;

It’s ok to ask for help.

If you are alone,

afraid, and

feeling ill;

It’s ok to ask for help.

If you are unsure,

incapable, or

just plain lost;

It’s ok to ask for help.

I don’t know where I ever got the idea, but some how I rationalized that an independent, responsible adult handles life on their own. You don’t broadcast your troubles, and you don’t go and ask for help.  You handle it yourself.  In many ways, that philosophy was good. I managed to ‘handle a lot’ on my own. Many people were fooled into believing that I was a very strong person.  In many ways, it has caused me untold, and unnecessary grief.  “Nobody knows the trouble I’ve seen…”  If I had asked for help in times of need, my struggles in life would have been less burdensome.

It took a major tragedy, and an upheaval in life before I understood that “It’s ok to ask for help”.  As a Christian, I of course knew the power of prayer, and that the LORD would always help me.  It didn’t dawn on me that His help might come in the form of other people. So, if you are having troubles of any kind, first ask the LORD for help.  Then ask someone else for help…they may well be the help the LORD is sending you!

Leave a Reply

