Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

Guarantees

“There are few guarantees in life.”

That sums up my return adventure in the clothes sewing department.  It had been 15 years since I last tried to sew a garment, and with my latest attempt at producing a simple elastic waist skirt, I remembered why I had given up sewing clothes.  There were no guarantees!

There is no guarantee that the desired outfit will fit you, as well as it fits the model on the pattern.  There is no guarantee that, in carefully following the measurements on the pattern, your outfit will fit properly.  Or hang right.   There is just no guarantee that you will complete the project according to your expectations.  I grew discouraged.  I lacked my mother’s talent (and a lot of her tools and equipment).

Sigh, and resignation.

100_1064

Well . . .  wait a minute.  There is that second piece of material I bought to make a skirt…

I can learn from my experience.

I can try it again.

I can make it work.

After all, it’s not about the guarantee – it’s about the challenge!

Comments on: "Guarantees" (2)

  1. busyfingers101 said:

    I’m so glad it’s not just me who feels like that! I’ve been starting to feel that I have the most misshapen body in existence!

    • Naw, it couldn’t be OUR bodies! It must be badly produced patterns. Thanks for commenting, keep in touch. Someday we will sew something that fits!

Leave a Reply

