Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

Changing Baby

A few days ago, I had the wonderful opportunity to spend time with my daughters and their babies.  What a joy to hold those babies, hug them, love them, and play with them.  It was also a joy to watch my daughters, who once were my babies, mothering their babies.

As I watched, I began to notice all the little changes that have taken place within a generation of rearing babies.

“They don’t do things the way we did back in our day!”

Uh-huh.

I remember laundry baskets full of baby diapers.  At one time, I had 3 little ones in diapers. That’s a lot of diapers.  Clothe diapers, not disposable diapers.

We’d change baby, fold and put on a clean diaper (from the laundry basket), try not to stick baby with the diaper pin, and put plastic panties on over the diaper so they wouldn’t leak.  Then deal with the old diaper.

No, we didn’t just wad up the diaper and throw it away…  we had to rinse out the wet ones and put them in the diaper pail to await laundry time.  If the diaper was dirty, it would soak in the toilet first, then get rinsed, and tossed into the pail.  More often than not, those dirty diapers ended up soaking a long time before I got back to dealing with them.

Every time my father-in-law would stop by our house, he would come in and say, “There better not be a diaper in the toilet” as he headed down the hall.

There usually was.

I remember my own mother dealing with my younger siblings.  I remember having to fold their diapers.  Back in Mom’s day, they didn’t have the luxury of pre-folded diapers; they had large white, gauzy, cotton clothes that had to be folded this way, then that way, flipped here, and tucked there.  You had to fold the diapers differently for boys and girls.

In fact, there are at least 5 different ways to fold diapers:

Newborn fold

Girl fold

Boy fold

Kite fold

Origami fold  (for those Type A mothers)

I imagine those disposable diapers can be a real convenience during the hectic babyhood days.  They are scientifically designed to “whisk away dampness” from baby’s bottom, thus eliminating a lot of diaper rash.  That is a good thing.  On the other hand – they are expensive to buy, and they live on forever in the landfills.  (What a way to immortalize your child!)

Hey Girls!  I hear that cloth diapers are making a come back!”

Comments on: "Changing Baby" (2)

  1. I can barely keep up with all of the regular laundry for my baby… I can’t imagine having to deal with 10+ cloth diapers a day!! I love the modern conveniences. 🙂

  2. Thank the Lord for all the small things – like modern conveniences. 😉

Leave a Reply

