Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

Teeter Babes

!Bs(lyy!CWk~$(KGrHqEH-CMEvDSFqPr BL3iJi1SG!~~_3

Do you recognize this? It’s a bit older than the pressed board wall behind it.  Maybe you have seen one, or used one.  Then again, maybe not.  I remember such a contraption very well.  I use to see them all the time, a long time ago.  In fact, a long time ago I even had one myself.

001 - Copy

Yah, check the date on that photograph… July 1956.  I was 7 months old as I sat there enjoying my teeter-babe.  The Cadillac of baby seats back in those days. (Being the first to break in a set of new parents and grandparents, I got a lot of the cool baby ‘things’.  Teeter-babe, high chair, buggy, stroller, crib and bathanet.)

That teeter-babe was quite the baby seat.  The metal curly frame was designed for bounce-ability.  Set baby in the seat, and any movement on baby’s part would set the seat to bouncing.  Once baby got bigger, the bouncing got better!  I remember my sister bouncing that teeter-babe across the kitchen floor.

The teeter-babe was a good way to set baby down for a while.  The baby could entertain herself with the rattles and teething rings placed in the tray.  Baby could exercise her growing muscles by bouncing up and down.  And best of all, baby was safely confined to one spot (supposedly).

When I had children of my own, I relied on my childhood memories for what my babies would need.  When it was time for a teeter-babe, I couldn’t find such a thing anywhere.  Hmmm.  Times change?  What everyone had now were walkers.

A baby seat on wheels.  The intent was to aid the baby in strengthening leg muscles and learn to walk.  So, we got the walker, and my babies loved it!  We lived in a ranch style house with hardwood floors.  When babies were big enough to propel themselves in the walker, they would race from one end of the house to the other.  “Tornado Ruthie”!!  And, like a tornado, baby would leave a wide swath of destruction behind.

Now walkers have gone the way of the teeter-babe.  Someone noticed that zoom-zoom babies in their walkers could zoom right on down the stairs and hurt themselves.  So, something else had to be developed.  Something that would amuse baby, allow them to develop their muscles, help them learn to walk, but keep them safely in one spot!

Hence, my grandchildren now can play “Captain Kirk of the Starship Enterprise” as they sit in their… Saucers ?!!

100_6219

They can sit, they can stand, they can spin their seat around or walk in circles.  They have a dashboard of high-tech baby equipment to control their world; and, until they figure out how to jettison themselves from their cockpit … they are safe!

What ever will we think of next?

Comments on: "Teeter Babes" (2)

  1. Bethany said:

    Actually, walkers are back! I saw them at Target the other day.

  2. That just goes to prove that “everything old is new again”! We live in a cyclical world. 😉

Leave a Reply

