Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

Remembering Kilroy

I realize that I am dating myself with this one, but do you remember Kilroy?

There are many versions of the story about Kilroy.  He became a very popular fellow during WWII.  Kilroy wasn’t much of a talker, but he sure made the rounds of Allied camps during the war. And although no one actually met Kilroy, he left his mark on the camps’ morale in every theatre of war.

“Kilroy was here.”

Kilroy never was a real person.  He was a simple, childlike drawing of someone peaking over the top of a wall.  It was a  bit of graffiti that soldiers drew on everything from bunkers to bombs.  His picture was a bit of fun, a bit of comfort, and a bit of reassurance.

The picture of Kilroy carries another philosophical thought for me.  Sometimes I feel very much like the drawing of Kilroy.  Being an introvert by nature, I tend to keep to myself.  I’m not big on crowds of people.  I’m not much of a conversationalist.  I internalize everything.  I hide behind walls.  And often I am outside, looking in.  Wanting to be part of the happenings, but not quite brave enough to scale the wall and join in.

Why blog about this?  This evening was a very quiet evening at home.  We’re sitting on the couch together, Hubby with his laptop, and I with my book.  As I pause to look out the window, I see various neighbors in outdoor activities.  Suddenly I feel like I’m outside looking in, and I think of the picture of Kilroy.  My feelings in a nutshell.  Every once in a while I get the urge to scale the wall and join the rest of the world.  We’re not meant to be loners. It’s nice to know that others are there.

Comments on: "Remembering Kilroy" (2)

  1. I am standing a few feet away looking at the same thing you are feeling exactly the same way. No wonder we get along so well!

Leave a Reply

