Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

Living in the Fog

It’s a bright sun-shiny day today!  Rather warm, too.  But at least its a day with no clouds or rain!  We’ve had a lot of those days the last two months.  So today, everyone should be feeling just as bright and chipper as the day.  Oh, yes!

And I am – feeling rather chipper this morning.  I’m up and dressed.  I had my breakfast out on the deck, soaking in my daily requirement of Vitamin D.  I’ve cleaned the kitchen and made the bed.  A good start to a good day.  And now I am blogging.

It’s not always like this.  There are days when I am not chipper,  I don’t care about the sun shine, and I have absolutely no desire or strength to do any kind of house work.  There are days when I get up, have my morning coffee, and go back to sleep.  I have fibromyalgia.  Have had it for 25+ years.

I have done a lot of research on fibromyalgia over the years.  It’s alway a good thing to know  with what you are dealing!  The internet has sure been a wealth of information.  I even joined a few fibro support groups.  I didn’t care for them to much.  I liked the info, but not the constant complaining.  Very depressing.  Lately I have learned more about something called ‘fibro fog’.

Symptoms of Fibrofog
Fibrofog is one of the most common yet unrecognized symptoms of fibromyalgia. If you have fibromyalgia signs and symptoms it is important to be aware of fibrofog so that you can seek appropriate treatment and manage your illness more effectively. Some symptoms of fibrofog include:

  • short-term memory loss
  • difficulty remembering where you put things
  • difficulty remembering plans
  • difficulty with language, including trouble holding conversations, understanding conversations, and expressing thoughts
  • difficulty finding the “right” word to use in conversation
  • trouble remembering simple numbers
  • transposing letters and numbers
  • trouble concentrating and focusing
  • trouble retaining new information

Yup, that’s me alright.  Good thing to know, because I thought I had dementia for sure.  Over the years, all the above symptoms have increasingly irritated my lifestyle.  It’s a good thing I’m getting older.  Eventually I’ll have an understood  excuse for my dotty behavior!

Leave a Reply

