Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

Should I Be Concerned?

I picked up the mail the other day and was delighted to find two letters among the junk.  We don’t get letters that often any more.  The first letter was really a thank you card from our niece whose wedding we had attended recently.  She thanked us for our present and our presence.  How nice!  We made someone happy just by attending.

The second letter,however…



Why was I getting mail from the American Consulate General?   Upon closer inspection I noticed that while the envelope was posted to my address, it wasn’t addressed to me in particular.  The envelope was addressed to an unknown Senora, while I personally run along the lines of a Frau.  What do I do with this letter?  It must be important…

Since I was headed toward our small town post office anyway, I took the letter with me.  I figured that the United States Postal Service was on a better known name basis with the American Consulate General than mere little me.  When I explained my predicament to the post mistress, she took the letter, looked at it, and with a “Humph!” she tossed in into a bin.   I am so glad that I don’t have to be concerned about that matter anymore!

~~~~~~~

Our summer has consisted of hot, humid weather.  Humid as in heavy clouds, thunderstorms, and flash floods.  I have really appreciated AC this summer!  I don’t handle heat that well. (I may have mentioned all this before…)  Anyway, about a week or so ago, I was driving home after running some errands, and I was anxiously awaiting the welcoming relief of my air-conditioned apartment.  As I turned into the driveway of my complex, this is what I saw…

Can you see it there among the trees??!!  Trees, hot weather, and really big  fire.  Not what one wants to see when coming home.  No one was around.  Just me standing in the driveway that looked, felt, and sounded like it led to the very gates of Hell itself.  Hmmm, maybe I should be concerned.

So, being the curious kind, I parked the car and hiked over to the treeline.  Then I crawled through the trees and brush for a better view.  It is amazing what a simple treeline can hide from everyday life.

Burning used fuel at the farm implement factory.  The landlord never mentioned any of this when we toured the apartments!  Since no one else seemed concerned, I figured I didn’t need to be concerned either.  Head home to the AC.

~~~~~

Every year for the past 14 years, several professors at Beloit College  do some research that is intended to help their fellow professors have a better understanding for the new freshman students about to descend on their campus.  This research is published as the annual Mindset List for the Class of 20…

Most students entering college for the first time this fall—the Class of 2014—were born in 1992.

1. Few in the class know how to write in cursive.

2. Email is just too slow, and they seldom if ever use snail mail.

7. “Caramel macchiato” and “venti half-caf vanilla latte” have always been street corner lingo.

12. Clint Eastwood is better known as a sensitive director than as Dirty Harry.

19. They never twisted the coiled handset wire aimlessly around their wrists while chatting on the phone.

26. Unless they found one in their grandparents’ closet, they have never seen a carousel of Kodachrome slides.

28. They’ve never recognized that pointing to their wrists was a request for the time of day.

32. Czechoslovakia has never existed.

51.  Food has always been irradiated.

55. Rock bands have always played at presidential inaugural parties.

58. Beethoven has always been a good name for a dog.

72. One way or another, “It’s the economy, stupid” and always has been.

Having been a primary school teacher for most of the last 18 years, I can’t help but wonder… Should I be concerned?



Comments on: "Should I Be Concerned?" (1)

  1. I read an interesting article that reversed the above mindset. It mentioned people who only know mail as the U.S. mail. Or, when told to “contact me,” will only use a telephone. Considering how the greatest number of people communicate today, are these oldsters cause for concern?

    The premise of the article was that students learn what they most need to know for functioning in today’s society. Apparently cursive handwriting and mental math are no longer necessary. But computer skills and social media are.

    We live in a very different world, eh? Ah, I feel old!!!

Leave a Reply

