Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

A New Future

Tomorrow morning will be the start of a new day.  It will also be the start of a new year.  And,  the start of a new decade.  When I wake up in the morning, I might have some plans made for the day; but that doesn’t guarantee  those plans will work out as I expect.  I may plan to go shopping … but there could be thousands of reasons waiting to squash my trip.  Dead car battery, unexpected company, bad weather, empty checkbook, busted plumbing, etc.

If I can have problems trying to know what one day will bring, however could I foresee the events of the upcoming year?  Or the next ten?!  When I look back at the departing decade, I never would have imagined the events and changes that took place.  My current path in life is not the one I expected to be on at the end of this decade.

Not knowing  what the future holds can be frightening.  There are so many bad things that could happen within the next day, or year, of decade.  Facing the future is like facing a barren wilderness, uncharted waters, or an unknown jungle.   You don’t know where to go, or what to expect, or what you will meet along the way.

I don’t know what a new day, a new year, or a new decade holds for me and my loved ones.  But I do know that God knows.

“For I know the plans I have for you,”

declares the LORD,

“plans to prosper you and not to harm you,

plans to give you hope and a future”

Jeremiah 29:11

It may not seem that way at times.  I have wondered and waited through some tragic times.  But I know that no matter what comes my way, The LORD will see to it that my faith and hope in Him prospers, and my  glorious future is in Heaven with Him.  I’m safe.  No matter what.

Comments on: "A New Future" (1)

  1. A very meaningful post Terri. I hadn’t even paid attention to it being a new decade, simply because I’ve been busy with whatever (probably making plans for the new year:-). That’s one of my favorite passages however and it’s good to be reminded who really is the planner!

Leave a Reply

