Nana has tales to tell, and thoughts to share.

Yah, I got  it – bad.

I so badly want to sit down with my netbook and write away.  I have the netbook.  I have the time.  I have the education.  I have experiences from life…

I just can’t think of anything to write about!

During the 20 years I taught elementary education, I spent a great deal of time and effort teaching my young students how to write.  We did daily journaling.  Much of the time the students wrote about whatever they wanted.  I had one first-grader who wrote exclusively about going bear hunting with his dad.  His entries were very descriptive on every aspect of bagging a bear.  During a Parent-Teacher conference, I learned that while his dad was a big hunter, the little wanna-be had as yet to experience hunting with his father.

In order to introduce other styles and topics of writing, teachers make use of  journaling prompts.  There are many ways to use writing prompts.  Resource books offer sentence prompts, picture prompts, and special writing stationary that helps stimulate the students’ imagination and writing.  Or, teachers  just tell them what to write about, like; “Why is there a polar bear swimming in your back yard pool?”

In my efforts to overcome my writers’ block I spent hours googling sites that might offer writing prompts.  I found dozens of such sites.  I read through dozens and dozens of prompts, advice, and strategies for good writing.
Nothing.
Blank.
Blocked.

Many bloggers write about their families – especially their children.  I have children.  Four of them, with lots of tales.   But I can’t write about them.  They won’t let me.   Many blog sites feature food, but how often can one write about heating up frozen pizza?  Then there are sites that give advise on organization, frugality, spirituality, photography, and  craftology.  But I read those sites to learn something.  How could I write about something I’m not an expert on?  Would anyone be interested in my experiences at getting all tangled up in my attempts at knitting?

Maybe politics, current events, civil rights… all the ‘hot topics’…but it seems as though my brain is no longer wired for intellectual verbalization.  Too many years spent at the first grade level.

I just can’t think of anything to write about!   So, I publicly and officially admit it –

“Hi, my name is Terri, and I have Writer’s Block!” 

Is there a cure ?  Some kind of 12 step program?
Maybe tomorrow I will think about something to write.

Comments on: "“Houston, We Have a Problem”" (4)

  1. Well, since you mentioned current events and since the big news is that Osama bin Laden is dead, why don’t you write about where you were on Sept. 11, 2001.

    I was working at Lakeside and ran up to the faculty lounge to see it on TV. I saw when the plane hit the second tower. I remember a freshman student asking me what was going on and I told him I wasn’t sure, but it was something he’d always remember. How little did we know!

    • I was in the gym with the rest of my first grade class, getting our pictures taken. Jim had called the school to tell them, and there was a TV in the gym. We saw the plane it the Pentagon. All I could thing of was “we’re at war”

  2. We all experience writer’s block from time to time. Don’t know if this will help, but I keep a notebook handy and if something happens or an idea crosses my mind (while I’m busy doing something else), I just jot it down in the notebook. Then when I want to sit down to write, voila, I have some ideas. If that doesn’t work for you, go to WordPress and look at the Post a Day section. Each day there is a writing prompt there. Hope that helps! I really enjoy what you’ve written so far. 🙂

    • Thank you for your comments! I have been thinking of shutting down since it seems my brain has already. Your encouragement is helpful!
      -Terri

Leave a comment